Diary of a Madman

Going Against The Grain

When all else fails, Wave the Money Flag

leave a comment »

I love working with other people, especially excuse generators, as evidenced by this little exchange between myself and a website I was going to advertise on.  It’s amazing how waving the money flag gets a response

After sending them samples of our product and having numerous conversations with them since the end of April, my 15 or so calls and email went unanswered since the middle of June until I sent them this little missive today:

XXXX,
I was going to be looking to do some advertising with XXX in conjunction with our roll out into retailers, but the fact that you or someone from your company has yet to follow up with me is disgraceful. My initial contact with you in June (and what I thought was a some sort of plan to get some sort of small promotion running with you for July) was to gauge the response we would generate via xxxxx.
Thanks for the follow up

And the typical responses, which I seem to get from almost everyone I look to hire, save my web designer,

I of course recall conversations with you in June, and apologize for my lack of follow-up with you for July. At the end of June I had taken a leave of absence due to a family emergency, and I was also out on vacation for 2 weeks, were you not getting my out-of-office replies? Perhaps they went into your junk mail? We are a start-up and have an extremely small staff so I’m sorry you’re so frustrated. I understand. XXXX has been in a major transition this summer, and we’ve been redesigning our site and the new version will launch
this Friday along with our new XXXXX launching in early august. We would like to find a way to work with you along the lines of XXXXX as we have previously discussed.
However, we are not in the place to do that at the moment considering we are re-launching everything. I am going to be traveling tomorrow through next Thursday for the XXXXX. Can I give you a call next Friday morning, August 1st, at 10am EST? Perhaps we can plan something for September with our new survey that month? It might
actually work out better for you that working with us over the summer months, because we are expecting huge traffic increases due to PR and marketing initiative in August and September.Thank you and again apologies for the lack of response,

Being hatched under a rock and therefore not having any family members, I just can’t relate to that family emergency excuse……….seriously……….what the fuck, I have yet to see anyone who is gainfully employed under the age of 60, not check their email at least every other day.  Even the biggest hard ass understands that shit happens…..just fucking tell people.  Ya, I got your autoresponders – at the beginning of JUNE!!!! Where the hell have you been for the last 4 weeks?

I’d like to say that this is an isolated incident, but it isn’t….

Written by insaneentrepreneur

July 24, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Leave a Reply

